WASC Reaccreditation

2018 Accreditation Process

UCR's Accreditation will be reviewed again in 2018. Specific dates for that accreditation cycle have recently been set, and include:

    • The submission of the Institutional Report in January 2018
    • The off site review in April 2018
    • The on site review in October 26-28 2018

Preparations are already underway for the 2018 accreditation visit. In December of 2016 there was a “kickoff” meeting to brief key leaders from the academic senate, the deans’ offices and other faculty and administrators about the reaccreditation process. Following that, the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education (and campus Accreditation Liaison Officer) convened a reaccreditation workgroup to begin assembling a draft of the institutional report. This has already involved meetings and discussions with individuals from across campus and will continue to do so. The workgroup hopes to complete a very rough draft near the end of the spring quarter and then revise and produce a good quality draft over the summer. This will mean the document could be shared with the campus early in the fall of 2017. The goal is to make this an open and collaborative process.

The members of the reaccreditation workgroup are:


  • Ken Baerenklau, Associate Provost and Associate Professor in the School of Public Policy
  • Richard Cardullo, Interim Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and campus’ AccreditationLiaison Officer to WASC
  • Gary Coyne, Director of Evaluation and Assessment, Undergraduate Education
  • George Haggerty, Professor and Chair of English and Faculty Reaccreditation Director
  • Nigel Hughes, Professor of Earth Science
  • Matt Hull, Associate Vice Chancellor for Planning and Budget
  • Sang-Hee Lee, CHASS Associate Dean of Students and Associate Professor of Anthropology
  • Erith Jaffe-Berg, Professor and Chair of Theater, Film and Digital Production
  • Michael McKibben, CNAS Divisional Dean of Student Affairs and Associate Professor of Geology
  • Karthick Ramakrishnan, Associate Dean of the School of Public Policy and Professor of PoliticalScience
  • Linda Walling, Professor of Botany and Plant Sciences and member of the Committee on Education Policy
  • Georgia Warnke, Professor of Political Science, Director of the Center for Ideas and Society and member of the Committee on Academic Personnel



More Information